Infrastructure Council Minutes 9-27-18 2:00 p.m. Pugh 150

Present: Laurie Bialosky, Ann Wehmeyer, Keith Rambo, Richard Schultz, Judy Russell, Mark McCallister, Ray G. Thomas, Robert Schulte, Keith Schneider, Bernard Hauser, and Angelos Barmpoutis.

1. Call to Order - Ann Wehmeyer

The meeting was called to order by Council Chair Ann Wehmeyer at 2:00 p.m.

2. Approval of April 12, 2018 Minutes

The minutes were approved.

3. Introductions

Committee members and liaisons were introduced.

Chair Wehmeyer provided an overview of the function of the council, namely that the council Supports infrastructure as it relates to the university's academic mission, including the provision of physical facilities and other physical resources; libraries; information technology; the campus master plan; and the availability of adequate computer, classroom, laboratory and other resources.

The Infrastructure Council governance model was discussed, including that the Faculty Senate Chair's target goals are shared with council while council shares its iniatives with the Faculty Senate Chair and Steering Committee. Contributing committees to Infrastructure Council give and provide council feedback.

Past issues addressed by council include: Hurricane Irma repairs and perennial issues such as the establishment of a faculty club and ongoing parking issues. The council was also charged with handling the OPS workers resolution this past academic year.

Council members should forward to the chair any recommendations for speakers and topics of interest for the council. Anyone can be invited to present to council and past speakers include UF Foundation representatives VP of Advancement, Tom Mitchell and COO & Associate VP Karen Rice who discussed a faculty club iniative.

UF currently has a significant amount of funding set aside for deferred maintenance. VP Curtis Reynolds is being scheduled to present on prioritization in deferred maintenance and repairs following disasters.

The council's annual report is available online at:

http://fora.aa.ufl.edu/FacultySenate/Pages/Infrastructure-Council/InfrastructureCouncilReports.

4. Parking and Infrastructure - Ray G. Thomas, Faculty Senate Chair-Elect

Ray Thomas proposed a <u>resolution</u> in support of the recommendation of the Parking and Transportation Advisory Committee to delay the construction of the Data Science building until Garage XIV is operational in the spring of 2020. The new parking Garage XIV is being constructed at the Commuter Lot on Gale Lemerand Drive.

- -Council expressed concerns about the temporary parking which will be made available to offset the losses by planned construction. The Flavet Lot is located next to Flavet Field, across Museum Road from the Honors Residential College at Hume Hall and is accessed via the north side of Museum Road. The Flavet Lot is the closest temporary parking option to central campus but requires a bus trip to reach most buildings on campus. This is problematic for faculty and staff that work in the middle of campus.
- -Council discussed various anticipated timelines, including the November 2018 start of the Garage XIV construction and the May 2019 demolition of the aerospace lot. Garage XIV is expected to open in February 2020. While the legislature has funded these projects, the data science building completion date is undetermined but will have two building phases.
- -A motion to approve the resolution passed unanimously.

5. Reporting of Contributing Committees:

Steering Committee (S) – Ann Wehmeyer

- -Under the pre-eminence iniative, the Provost has authorized about 250 faculty hires. While the Deans have received hiring approval, the colleges have agreed to provide physical and financial support for the new hires; onboarding, space, and start-up funding of new hires will need to be addressed by deans, directors, and department chairs.
- -The discussion regarding a faculty lounge could be continued this year and suggestions moved forward to the Steering committee. Council discussed some of the history of the attempts to establish a faculty lounge, including the 2015 report submitted by former Faculty Senate Chair, Paul Davenport, and the limitations and use of the current Keene Faculty Center housed in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

• University Libraries Committee (S) – Angelos Barmpoutis

- -A detailed University Libraries report was presented and submitted.
- -There was discussion regarding the past agreement that the ULC report to SCORS as well as the Infrastructure Council. The Committee on Committees suggested and agreed in the past that ULC report to or have a liaison to SCORS. Initially, the ULC Chair only reported to Infrastructure Council but it was felt that much of the library scholarship issues are pertinent to SCORS, such as the Open Access Funding issue. The ULC Chair currently attends two Faculty Senate Council meetings: SCORS and Infrastructure. Laurie will follow up with the Faculty Senate Chair regarding the establishment of administrative liaisons and contributing chairs as it relates to the overall structure of Senate governance.

• Parking and Transportation Committee (J) – Keith Rambo

-Parking management plans are in development to accommodate impacted groups during and following construction of Garage XIV. Parking demand and projected parking space losses were discussed. (See item #4 above.) 25,377 is the maximum amount of parking spaces on main campus. Five near-term parking opportunities include locations at: Flavet Field, Fifield Field, Archer Road Field, 13th Street East and Norman Field is projected to provide 1,233 parking spaces.

The new band practice field and new baseball fields were discussed, with the latter proposed new space being at the end of Museum and Mowry Road; a roundabout is being considered.

• University IT Committee (S) – Kenneth Nunn/Michael Dark
The committee last met in the Spring. The new committee chair is currently on leave and unable to serve at this time. A new chair will be selected this month or next.

6. Selection of new chair for 2018-2019. *Must be a Senator* Bernard Hauser was unanimously elected.

7. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 3:14 p.m.